Ian Mortimer

Dr Ian Mortimer is the author of twelve history books, plus two editions of historical manuscripts and numerous articles, most of which deal with the history of England between the late Middle Ages and the eighteenth century. He has been described by The Times as ‘the most remarkable medieval historian of our time’, principally on account of his series of late-medieval historical biographies. He is best known, however, as the author of The Time Traveller's Guides: four have been completed to date, namely Medieval England (2008); Elizabeth England (2012); Restoration Britain (2017) and Regency Britain (2020). His most recent book, Medieval Horizons, was published by Bodley Head on 23 February 2023. He is a Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries and a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society.

He also writes in other genres. His novel, The Outcasts of Time, won the 2018 Winston Graham Prize for Historical Fiction. His first three novels, the Clarenceux Trilogy, set in the 1560s, appeared under his middle names, James Forrester. His memoir about the meaning of running, entitled, Why Running Matters, was published in March 2019.

He lives in Moretonhampstead, on the north-eastern edge of Dartmoor (Devon). More information can be found on his website, www.ianmortimer.com.

Contact Information

Georgina Capel
email hidden; JavaScript is required
Literary, Film
Rachel Conway
email hidden; JavaScript is required
TV, Radio, Foreign Rights
Irene Baldoni
email hidden; JavaScript is required
Speaking & Engagements