Stella Rimington

Dame Stella Rimington joined Britain’s Security Service (MI5) in 1969. During her nearly thirty-year career she worked in all the main fields of the Service’s responsibilities – counter-subversion, counter-espionage, and counter-terrorism. Appointed Director General of MI5 in 1992, she was the first woman to hold the post and the first director general whose name was publicly announced on appointment.

Following her retirement from MI5 in 1996, she became a non-executive director of Marks and Spencer and published her autobiography, Open Secret. Stella is the author of the Liz Carlyle series of novels. The first novel, At Risk, was published by Hutchinson in 2005, as were Secret Asset in 2006 and Illegal Action in 2007. Dead Line was published by Quercus in October 2008, followed in 2009 by Present Danger. Rip Tide was published by Bloomsbury in 2011, the same year in which Stella chaired the Man Booker Prize. The Geneva Trap was then published by Bloomsbury in 2012.

Close Call was published in 2014 by Bloomsbury, followed by Breaking Cover in 2016. The Moscow Sleepers, the tenth novel in the series, was published by Bloomsbury in 2018.

Stella’s new thriller, The Devil's Bargain, was published by Bloomsbury on 17 March 2022.

Contact Information

Georgina Capel
email hidden; JavaScript is required
Rachel Conway
email hidden; JavaScript is required
Film, TV, Radio, Foreign Rights
Irene Baldoni
email hidden; JavaScript is required
Foreign Rights, Speaking & Engagements